Profile: South Pacific Tourism Organisation

About SPTO

Established in 1983 as the Tourism Council of the South Pacific, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO) is the mandated organisation representing Tourism in the region.
Its 18 Government members are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Marshall Islands, New Caledonia, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and the People’s Republic of China. In addition to government members, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation has about 200 private sector members.

SPTO mission

"Market and Develop Tourism in the South Pacific"

Linked to this, SPTO’s goals are:

  • To improve air and sea access to Islands
  • To Enhance brand "South Pacific"
  • To develop capacity of Government and private sector for sustainable tourism


"Tourism will Inspire Sustainable Economic Growth and Empower the Pacific People"

The Future

SPTO will continue to play a pivotal role in the regional co-ordination of the tourism sector. We will continue to work closely with both government and private sector members to co-ordinate regional marketing, planning, investment and human resource development activities.
The SPTO is committed to achieve the sustainable growth of the sector as encompassed in the regional Vision for tourism. We will facilitate the achievement of the regional Vision, in partnership with governments, the private sector and the donor community, for the benefit of the people of the South Pacific.